Anti-Climax (Cut-Up Poem)

Anti-Climax (a clusty search cut up poem)

an anti-climax is an abrupt declension
needed to keep up with growth

but for large parts
the work has already occurred

I had been planning to ask for your input
pictures, message him, and check
the outside was extravagant
but, in our view, this is just too basic

to see what you’ve seen, what you thought, what you’d like to see more of
A pleasurable, self-induced anti-climax

Posted in Art, clusty-cut-up, cut-up, Cut-Ups, Cutup, Poem, Poetry, Text, Text-Art, TextArt
5 comments on “Anti-Climax (Cut-Up Poem)
  1. Christ Almond says:

    Thoughts on this cut-up poem: It contains a comment on itself:

    but for large parts
    the work has already occurred

    The emotional form of the poem flows with remarkable naturalism. The method seems to accurately produce a model of emotional thinking. The apparent single-mindedness of interior monologue is a consequence of attention directed to just some of the mental processes at work. We might choose what to say by selecting only from the set of things we are actually thinking about. By simulating that activity in choosing poetic fragments from a random stream, two things are happening: We attend to the signals as if someone else is saying them; we piece the meaning together as the process continues. Possibly, deeper truths are discovered by not trying to create meaning.

    The almost inevitable, radical shifts of person and tense create the powerful effect of a multitude of sampled voices.

    The fracture of semantic logic, in its many forms

    A pleasurable, self-induced anti-climax

    the outside was extravagant

    is a revelation of surrealistic imagery. The power of this technique is in its similarity to dreaming.

    I hope these comments aren’t too dry for the informal style of your brilliant site.

  2. Wow. Thanks CA. That’s really interesting. No – not dry at all! 🙂 Maybe it’s informality – I just think it’s a reflection of how I am, who I am …

    Is it just human nature to try and find meaning in everything do you think?

    Like an abstract painting evoking feelings and mood and even a story or meaning for some. I wonder why abstract painting is widely accepted but not so abstract writing. Can you appreciate beauty or mood in a piece of random poetry like you can an abstract painting? I think I can, I do.

    It’s interesting whether the natural flow and meaning from this style of cut-up comes about from a) the originator forming it into some meaning, b) the reader forming it into meaning, c) a lucky combination, d) everything just has it’s own meaning regardless.

    Oh – I wish I were more capable of intellectual thought Christ! I welcome your insight and thoughts. You even help to feel more like a real artist 🙂

  3. Christ Almond says:

    I think it is human nature to find meaning without trying.

    Abstract painting was once a shocking force in the world. Now it is just part of the design landscape like Jackson Pollock’s fields of spattered, drooled paint as interior design motif, for example.

    Speaking of Pollock, have fun with this.

    Cutting up words is a powerful method for disrupting programmes of mind control. The prediction of Newspeak by George Orwell shows what can happen when the state’s domination of media is total.

    For an artist, in an arguably freer position that Orwell’s protagonists, cut-ups allow for the discovery of completely new images and ideas. Our mass media culture has resisted that for a long time in favour of a system where corporations retain copyright control so that commercially successful ideas or images are copied and spread about aggressively. Now that there is a mass shift back to modes of folk art, albeit by technological means, experimentalism, emergence and variety will hopefully come to dominate our culture again.

    Your points about the nature of word abstraction are really getting to the heart of this tricky subject. The originator accepts and builds upon a version of narrative or image as it is revealed in the process. The cut-up poem, story, or whatever, is powerfully experienced by the composer who feels that the new forms being discovered hold symbolic meaning for them personally. If a cut-up poem is written with a specific audience in mind, and that audience is aware of that editorial direction, then the symbolic meaning is shared. A general reader may just feel disoriented. But the powerful idea of cut-ups is best expressed by demonstrating the method. Once they have been shown how it is done, they want to do it too because it seems there are messages from somewhere beyond, with uncanny personal significance, for them as well.

  4. Well I am delighted that something so fun for me can also be so deep at the same time. So much out there waiting for me to learn.

    I love the idea of “a mass shift back to modes of folk art, albeit by technological means”. How wonderful! I’d never thought of the experimentalism and the little niches and ripples out there (in here?) via the internet in that way. I’m such a fan of your brain CA 🙂

    And I feel more assured that a general reader may be disorientated as I do wonder sometimes if most people think this cut-up work is just a bit bonkers.

    For me, at the moment my main motivation is enjoyment. I like the method and I like (most of the time) the results – and most of the time I have fun with it. It’s a thrill to read back a finished piece and find something I didn’t know was there myself. A lot of the time I make myself laugh, the whole process makes me laugh – and the sometimes I get a jolt of something deeper or more serious from reading it back (which me being me makes me laugh afterwards … or at least say “ooooooo”).

    I like the aspect of having rules – but not being bound by them. Like they are comforters, big squashy bumpers to keep things on track and manageable – but not to confine me/it.

    This deepness is a startling and exciting aspect to it all. Possibly more so because my intellectual thought processes are somewhat restricted these days by my illness (a constant source of surprise to me). Maybe that’s also what helps to free me to do the work (which I may have been more dismissive of in the past) and to enjoy it so much.

  5. Curtis says:

    you guys are gay!

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


