Why No Drawings?

I know January 2008 has been devoid of drawings on my blog.  This is because there are none to share 😦

I caught a cold over Christmas and on top of my CFS/ME it’s left me exhausted and debilitated.  Although the most severe symptoms (problems with throat, cough and sinuses) have eased I am still weary, easily wiped out and not even back to managing  most basic daily functions.  The virus persists over a month on – as my tonsils will testify.

The creative heart beat is still here but this kind of incapacity severes my drawing.  Partly because of the physical control of the pen/paintbrush, partly because there’s a wire loose in my brain that means my inspiration doesn’t quite get turned into art and partly – because … (*shrugs*) … I don’t know why.  I have started to put pen to sketchbook page this week for the first time since before Christmas.  The results so far are faltering stumbling marks.  But I maintain hope that soon the pen will move with the brain and the heart again.

I’m still managing (just) to keep my daily self portrait photograph project going (I am just entering the last 100 days in fact) and also my weekly sunset photography project (although I did miss a week last week). 

I’m sharing some of these photographs through my blog to let you all know I’m still here, I’m still creative. I just need to rest and heal some more before I am able unblock the bung holding me back.

Posted in Art, Artist, CFIDS, CFS, chronicallyhappy, Disability, M.E.
9 comments on “Why No Drawings?
  1. Christine says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry…I’ve been down since Christmas, too, but not quite so dramatically.

    I hope your upswing continues and you’re feeling much better soon. And hurray on keeping up with the self-portrait project! Congratulations on making the last 100 days.

  2. mudspice says:

    Tell me about it. The same thing has wiped out our household for the last several weeks. We’re just starting to come out of it now.

    I just remind myself that there is a time and place for everything. When I’m sick and tired, my time and place is on my bed watching a movie.

  3. Rachel M says:

    Take it easy. I’m sure when your physicall problems go away, the magic will return to you. 🙂

  4. Puglet says:

    You’re still officially my favorite person, oh sender of cookies and bed linens..

  5. Donimo says:

    Boy, can I relate to the creative urge being swamped by physical stuff. I really like your daily self portraits. Especially the recent one with the cat’s feet. I like the idea of doing something regular to keep me creative, but I don’t know if I cold pull it off. Blogging helps me because I don’t want to let too much time go between posts and I don’t want to lose any regular viewers. Have you seen my art blog or just the Chronic Holiday one. Not that working with fonts and the old ads isn’t creative… I just have dedicated my other blog to my art. I’m looking forward to spending time looking through your work. It’s nice to have someone understand what it’s like to struggle through fatigue and such.

  6. Donimo I hadn’t seen your art blog before. Thanks for the link. I like your work 🙂

  7. Donimo says:

    Thanks, Rachel. I’m glad to connect with another artist who has chronic illness. If you know of anyone else out there in the blogosphere, could you send me a link or two? Seahorse over at The Beauty Offensive is a photographer and has a disability… don’t know if you’ve seen her stuff or not.

  8. Donimo – sent you an email 🙂

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


