Dog Bignose (Drawing)

I took a different arc and eyes and it turned into this dog with an incredibly large nose.

Mr Creative says it looks a bit like Grommit‘s ugly cousing. i think he might be right.

Here’s the drawing in ink from my sketchbook:

dog bignose (no colour)

 

And once scanned I added colour digitally in Photoshop (much like with Catface):

dog bignose

With the colour he looks a bit less Grommit like but not much!

Posted in Art, Artist, Doodle, Drawing, Sketchbook
7 comments on “Dog Bignose (Drawing)
  1. […] Comments Dog Bignose (Drawing) « RachelCreative on Catface (Drawing)Tim (timtfj) on Absent Creatures (Doodle)Tim (timtfj) on A Bad […]

  2. Rachel M says:

    It’s good to see that a dog in art. 🙂

  3. Tim says:

    (I’m dropping the timtfj because you know it’s me by now)
    I think he’s the one who looks at Gromit thinking “Rather you than me…”. A bit of a spectator dog, I’d say.

  4. Nina says:

    What do you think of the digital coloring? I’m surprised to find that I rather like it:-)

  5. Well if I didn’t like the digital colouring I wouldn’t post it. I think it can be quite effective. It’s a different feel to the watercolour.

    The downside is it doesn’t exist as an original piece except on the screen. I have a funny feeling about that. But I do love working very simply with the digital colour rather than doing a lot of fancy stuff.

    The upside and the main reason I do the digital is it’s tricky to get large areas of flat colour with the tools (ie. aqua brush pen) and technique I use. I could do it with a different set up but that in itself alters the way things turn out.

    So I think it turns out pleasingly and it’s done digitally as that fits well within my constraints.

    Long answer?

  6. Donimo says:

    well done with the digital colouring. i’ve never used the aquabrush. you make it still have the feel of a brush… or if not quite a brush, then the human touch. well done with all the art lately!!!

    if you get a chance, check out my partner’s website. i think you’d like all the creatures she draws. she colours digitally, but uses the paint bucket for a flat effect. i will show her your work, for sure.

    http://www.sarahleavitt.com

  7. […] Dog Bignose and Ghostly: interesting glimpse of the drawing process. A curve and two dots, already with their own character, becoming a dog. […]

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


