Angel of The North (Photography)

Antony Gormley’s outdoor sculpture for Gateshead The Angel of The North sits beside the main motorway into Newcastle and Gateshead.

When we visited I (of course) took way too many photographs. Here are some from my digital SLR with my cheap wide angle lens (which distorts the photo particularly towards the edges of the frame and with high contrast).

angel of the north

angel of the north

angel of the north angel of the north

angel of the north

Posted in Art, Artist, Photograph, Photography
10 comments on “Angel of The North (Photography)
  1. ashysheela says:

    These are great! I particularly like the second one – good use of the limited light!

  2. Tim says:

    How big is the sculpture? Somehow it looks smaller than I expected.

    I really like the first photo, assuming I’m seeing them in the right order in Opera Mini – I like the simple composition (and I’ve always liked silhouettes).

  3. Tim says:

    Oh and can anyone explain to me what “trackback” is in case I want to do it? Especially if it’s something which would result in more people seeing Rachel’s photos.

  4. Thanks Katie. Can’t wait for the lo-fi pictures but think they might all be a bit dark. Ah well.

    Tim – apparently it’s 66 feet (20 metres) tall. The wing span is really impressive though at 178 feet (54 metres)!

    The wings are much more shapely than I realised. I’ve never been too fussed seeing the photos but it was really brilliant in the flesh (in the steel?).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angel_of_the_North

  5. Oh and a trackback is where if you write a blog post and link to one of my blog posts then my blog will (eventually) discover this and add a link to my comments which tracks back to your post.

    So I’ll have a comment (trackback) on my post to yours.

    It works both ways but only if you allow trackbacks/pings.

    “Trackbacks are used primarily to facilitate communication between blogs; if a blogger writes a new entry commenting on, or referring to, an entry found at another blog, and both blogging tools support the TrackBack protocol, then the commenting blogger can notify the other blog with a “TrackBack ping”; the receiving blog will typically display summaries of, and links to, all the commenting entries below the original entry. This allows for conversations spanning several blogs that readers can easily follow.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trackback

    It sounds much more complicated and frightening than it actually is and mostly is happens automatically – although you may need to approve trackbacks if you have a spam filter.

  6. Tim says:

    Re the size: I thought it was that kind of size but maybe there’s a sort of mental illusion where my brain “knows” a human figure can’t possibly be that big and scales it down.

    Thanks for trackback explanation – not sure whether opera.com supports it or not (or indeed whether I’ll stay there indefinitely or find somewhere I prefer) but I’ll check! (Twitterback would be nice, just for the word: get a tweet when someone comments or posts.)

  7. Tim says:

    Just checked and it does at least theoretically work for mine.

  8. Tim says:

    Ah–well now that I’m on a PC in the library and can see the pictures properly, I too think the second one is the best. And I can see the people and get an idea of the sculpture’s size…

    I hope this goes through without me looking like a new user again.

  9. Yep it came through ok Tim :o)

  10. […] by rachelcreative on August 26, 2008 I did say i took way too many photographs of the Angel of the North but I didn’t mention I took too […]

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


