Doodling The Classics – Mona Lisa (Drawing)

Doodling the classics. The Mona Lisa with that enigmatic smile.

doodling the classics - the mona lisa

Ink and watercolour from my A6 sketchbook.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Art, Artist, Doodle, Drawing, Remastered, Sketchbook
12 comments on “Doodling The Classics – Mona Lisa (Drawing)
  1. Ursula says:

    Rachel, I remember once running like crazy along the corridors of The Louvre trying to find the damn picture because I didn’t want to leave Paris on my first visit without having seen the Mona Lisa – had a plane to catch.

    I think your likeness rather striking. Though on the whole, correct me if I am wrong, you don’t seem to like noses on your human faces.

    U

  2. ashysheela says:

    ha ha i find noses impossible, tho i am sure rachel could pull them off if she wanted! 😉

  3. If I could get away without mouths I would ;o)

  4. Christ says:

    I went to have a look at it too. The painting was much smaller than expected. I know everyone says that. It was also very far away, because I was stood at the back of a large crowd that seemed permanently stationed in front of it. I went and admired some Egyptian booty (that’s treasure, not … well, you know) and returned to the girl with the ambiguous grin. Still 50 people gathered around! I could have pushed my way to the front but it didn’t seem worth it somehow. Tourists, huh!

    Noses! Er, I’ll say no more, except without a mouth she would be commonly known as the woman with the enigmatic absence of a mouth, which is kind of Dadaist and weird.

    I hope Doodling The Classics is, as they, one in an occasional series. I’d love to see more of these.

  5. Christ says:

    … is, as they ..? My brain flipped out for a second there.

    Still, now that I’m back correcting myself, I’d like to draw your attention to this extraordinary blog post of re-imagined Monas.

  6. I’ve never seen it in real life or even been to the Louvre. Musee D’Orsay is more my kind of gallery. I could spend days and days in there.

    Wonderful link to re-imagined Monas! Thanks for that. Some great paintings.

    I thought I might do a series. In fact I’ve done another tonight which I’ll post at some point. But would it better renamed as Doodling The Masters or just Doodling Other People’s Paintings.

    I doodled this, a Klimt, in 2007 and thought maybe it was an idea to explore.

    We’ll see!

  7. Malcolm says:

    much less smug than the original ….

  8. Malcolm – she certainly doesn’t look enigmatic ;o)

  9. petal47 says:

    I would like to see you re-imagine some Dali…..Are you taking requests?

  10. Erin Neises says:

    Dear Rachel,

    My name is Erin and I live in Chicago, IL. I am a graphic designer and one of my current clients is a framer that has invented a special magnetic frame for children’s art.

    I’ve come up with a few marketing ideas, including comparing a child’s work to Picasso or the Mona Lisa, and how a child’s art does not belong on the refrigerator. To present my ideas I looked online for a placeholder illustration of Mona Lisa so I could show him what I had in mind. I found your painting and it works very well for how we would like to market his frame idea.

    His marketing area includes only a few suburbs west of Chicago and not nationwide or even statewide.

    I was wondering what you would charge for us to use your illustration on an 8.5″x11″ flyer and a 3″x8.5″ flyer. I would be more than happy to email you a PDF of our ideas. We downloaded your painting from Google images ‘for position only’ but don’t want to use it for print without consent from you.

    I know this is a strange request and we understand if you’re feeling hesitant. Please feel free to write me with any questions or concerns. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Thank you for your time.

    Erin

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


