Sloth Painting – A New Commission

My latest work is a commissioned painting of a sloth.  My client has commissioned it for his wife who is just crazy about sloths.

This will be an acrylic painting on a 40cm square box canvas.  It’s early days but here is our sloth slowly taking shape – first sketched onto the canvas in pencil, then with the first set of lines painted in (still more to do on that).

20090424 sloth A

20090424 sloth B

This will be my second slow creature in a row having completed Tortie the tortoise painting recently.  It’s quite appropriate really for someone who has to work as slowly as I do.   Now all I need is a snail commission to complete the set?

Tagged with:
Posted in Art, Artist, Painting, Paintings, WIP
9 comments on “Sloth Painting – A New Commission
  1. Ursula says:

    Rachel, and there I was – for a moment – thinking you were about to capture one of the seven deadly sins.

    U

  2. ninacolors says:

    You do a fantastic job of simplifying and characterizing your animals! I’ve actually seen a sloth — had to wait for it to cross the path I was on, and wait………..and wait.

  3. Seb says:

    Fun! He looks like a very sweet sloth 🙂

  4. Seb says:

    I just realized you had an etsy shop! I couldn’t resist, I had to get your awesome penguin piece 🙂

  5. […] Sloth Painting – A New Commission […]

  6. […] Comments RachelCreative on Sloth Painting – A New CommissionBryony on When My Disability Is InvisibleA little time goes a long way « Groves Media on […]

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


