Night Flying – Pop Up Drawing

I made this pop up drawing in a card for a friend.

It’s only the second pop up I’ve made.

The greeting card is approx 6"x4".  The drawing is on watercolour paper in ink and watercolour.

night flying by you.

night flying - detail by you.

night flying - from above by you.

night flying - from above detail by you.

The flat character doing the flying keeps reminding me of the 2D people and background from the original Paddington Bear television series.

Paddington1 Paddington2 Paddington3

I guess I can list Paddington as an influence that I hadn’t been aware of before!

Here is the pop up drawing Night Flying in motion being unfolded by me:

Posted in Art, Artist, Doodle, Drawing, PopUp
7 comments on “Night Flying – Pop Up Drawing
  1. cusp says:

    This is great: any way you could market it and similar like your paintings ?

  2. inknform says:

    WOW, Paddington Bear…thats a name I hadn`t heard in forever! LOL. Love the pop-up card though. So simple yet affective!

  3. ninacolors says:

    I had the same thought, even while I grinned w delight. They are fantastic, feel like a natural extension of your drawings/paintings, and are definitely marketable (prototypes by you, and mass marketing by some factory) — when/if you have the time and energy.

    We didn’t have Paddington Bear on TV – bummer.

  4. cinderkeys says:

    Ooh, apologies for the off-topicness, but another piece of your art has gained exposure:

    http://meagenda.wordpress.com/2009/08/19/cinder-bridge-song-about-me-to-air-on-19-august/

    Did I mention how much I like this cover art? 🙂

  5. Seb says:

    Dude, seriously a nice job! I’d love to do pop ups, but I don’t think I have patience for it.

  6. meagenda says:

    Nice site, Rachel, and another fan of Andreas09!

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


