We Bee Family – Painting

In the summer I was commissioned to paint a family portrait as a 40th birthday present.  Commissioned as a gift for his wife, I worked with the client to create a portrait that captured the family including characteristic outfits for each of them.

I know the family very well so that helped to capture them, but I also used source photos to get the details right.  I was also able to make some late changes as the painting developed – for instance to change the baby’s sleep suit to one that had become a family favourite.  As ever, I worked closely with the client throughout the process.

They’ve given their permission for me to also share a few of the source photos used for the painting:

The title of the work uses “bee” as this is special to the family.  There’s also a bee hidden on the back of the painting.

Let me show you the painting in progress as it developed:

WIP 2013-07-29 - we bee familyWIP 2013-07-29 - we bee familyWIP 2013-07-30 - we bee familyWIP 2013-07-30 - we bee familyWIP 2013-08-01 - we bee familyWIP 2013-08-05 - we bee familyWIP 2013-08-07-18 - we bee familyWIP 2013-08-08 - we bee family

It was such a pleasure to make this work and the client and his wife were delighted with the painting.  Portraits are always challenging. Trying to capture the character converted into a RachelCreative style can be tricky but also very rewarding and I hope I get to do more.

I’m available for commissions – just send me an email.

Posted in Acrylics, Acyrlic, Art, Artist, Painting, Paintings, Portrait

Leave a Reply

RachelCreative

Rachel Groves, Artist
Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK

Shop
Website
Flickr
Twitter
Pinterest

Archives
Stuff


